Who are we?

All governors and any associate members have agreed to act according to the Patcham Infant School Governing Body Code of Conduct.  With the exception of the headteacher all governors are appointed for four years at a time but may resign at any time. Patcham Infant School Governing body has 12 governors on its constitution: 

  • Headteacher governor -        the headmaster may choose to be a governor
  • Staff governor -                      nominated from and elected by the staff
  • 3 parent governors -              nominated from and elected by parents of pupils
  • 6 co-opted governors -         appointed by the governing body on the basis of their skills and knowledge
  • Local authority governor -    selected and appointed by the governing body with the approval of the local authority 

There is also a Clerk to the Governors who is appointed by the governors but has no vote


The Governing Body 2020-2021


Andy Flowerday

Co-opted Governor


16.3.19 - 15.3.23

Chris Taylor


Staff Governor

03.9.14 - 

Graham Kane

Parent Governor

6.10.17 - 5.10.21

Helen Hawkins

Co-opted governor


16.3.19 - 15.3.23



Co-opted Governor

Nina Taylor

 Chair of Governors 

Parent Governor

9.12.19 - 8.12.23

Ron Guilford


LA Governor

3.11.16 - 2.11.20

Thomas Rhodes

Co-opted Governor

Health and Safety

16.7.20 - 15.7.24

Darren Middleton
Co-opted governor
10.7.19 - 9.7.23


Eric Baxter
Parent Governor
3.10.18 - 2.10.22


Michelle Lankstead

 Vice Chair of Governors 
Co-opted Governor
04.07.18 - 03.07.22


Lizzie Hilton

Staff Governor

16.7.19 to 15.7.23


Governors who have stepped down or whose term has expired in the last year:

Margaret Maslin stepped down May 2020

Patcham Infant School Governing Body Declarations of Interest 2019

 Governors declare their interests at least annually and at each meeting it is checked whether they have an interest in any agenda item.  If there is a conflict then they do not vote on that item and the other governors decide whether it is appropriate for them to contribute to the discussion or need to withdraw. 

Name of Governor Name of business/Organisation Nature of Business Nature of Interest

 Darren Middleton

Hamptons International Property Agents Employee
Eric Baxter Southern Water - IT Water supply  Employee
Andy Flowerday

All Saints Church

PCC Trustees


 Employee - Vicar

 and Chair of PCC Trustees

Ron Guilford None  
Lizzie Hilton Patcham Infant School School Teacher

 Michelle Lankstead

Company Secretary

Algas Ltd  Employee
Graham Kane Head of Performance for Sussex Police and Crime Commission (PCC) Police  Employee
Helen Hawkins Patcham Infant School School  Deputy Headteacher
Thomas Rhodes Philips Surveyors LLP Surveyors  Employee
Chris Taylor

Patcham Infant School


 1. Headteacher

2. Spouse of supply teacher

Nina Taylor

Legal and General

 Insurance Company


Governors in previous year:




Margaret Maslin    None  None  None

Get In Touch

Highview Avenue South, Patcham,
Brighton & Hove BN1 8WW

01273 509 766


Follow Us Back To Top
Leaflet | Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors, CC-BY-SA